Permitless Carry In Texas By: Chris Reitsma

0
14

[[{“value”:”

Thank you for reading this post, don't forget to follow and signup for notifications!

Permitless carry in Texas passed September 1, 2021, Texas law allows anyone who is at least 18 years old and not prohibited from possessing a firearm to carry a handgun openly or concealed without a license.

This is known as “permitless carry.” Some call it “constitutional carry” but it’s really not because it has a lot of restrictions to it.

There are a few exceptions to the permitless carry law. It does not provide you with all of the protections that come with having a license to carry. It also has restrictions and penalties that only apply to those carrying without a license.

If you are considering carrying without a license in Texas , it is important to be aware of the laws and to follow all applicable restrictions. You can learn everything you need to know about the permitless carry laws by taking our online permitless carry class.

Here are some additional details about the permitless carry in Texas:

  • You must be at least 18 years old to carry a handgun without a license.
  • You must be a U.S. citizen or legal resident of the United States.
  • You must not have been convicted of a felony or certain misdemeanor crimes.
  • You must not be a fugitive from justice.
  • You must be able to posses and purchase handguns under federal law.

Permitless Carry Restrictions

If you meet all of these plus the additional requirements, you can carry a handgun openly or concealed without a license. However, you can not carry in all of the same places as those with a license and you will have more restrictions.

Some prohibited carry restrictions include:

  • Schools and school zones (school zones NOT off limits with license)
  • Places where ANY type of “no carry” sign is posted (does not apply to those with a license)
  • Secured areas of an airport (protection with license only)
  • Federal buildings
  • Places where alcohol is sold for on-premises consumption (some protection here IF you have a license)
  • The premisses of a racetrack
  • Courts or offices used by the courts
  • City council meeting (can carry with a license)

These are just a few of the restrictions, there are too many to list here. It is important to be aware of the law and to follow all applicable restrictions if you are considering carrying a handgun in Texas without a license. You can learn all the permitless carry laws by taking our online permitless carry course here.

Would you rather get your license to carry and avoid all of the restrictions? You can get certified for your license online at your own pace below.

Get Certified Online

The post Permitless Carry In Texas appeared first on Point Blank CHL.

“}]]